Research Award

With the support of the Frobenius Society and the Hahn-Hissink'sche Frobenius Foundation the Frobenius Institute annually grants its Research Award for an excellent dissertation in the field of Social and Cultural Anthropology.

Professors of Social and Cultural Anthropology teaching (or who have taught) at universities in German-speaking countries are eligible to submit a proposal for unpublished doctoral theses graded "magna cum laude" or better within the last two years. The theses are assessed by the quality of ethnography, the topic's originality, clarity of argumentation and structure as well as the linguistic skill. The dissertation's author shall have outstanding academic potential.

The research prize is endowed with 3,000€ and is awarded at the annual reception held during the Frankfurt Book Fair. The awardee may apply to publish his/her thesis with the Frobenius Institute's book series "Studien zur Kulturkunde".


List of previous awardees:

2020: Lene Faust (Halle-Wittenberg) 

2019: Natalie Lang (Göttingen)

2018: Keine Preisvergabe

2017: Valerie Hänsch (Bayreuth)

2016: Matthias Debald (Frankfurt/M.)

2015: Philipp Zehmisch (München)

2014: Mirco Göpfert (Mainz)

2013: Christina Gabbert (Halle/Saale)

2012: Dominik Müller (Frankfurt/M.)

2011: Manuel Roland Rauchholz (Heidelberg)

2010: Laila Prager (Münster)

2009: Martin Zillinger (Tübingen)

2008: Petra Maass (Göttingen)

2007: Henry Kammler (Frankfurt/M.)

2006: Markus Verne (Bayreuth)

2005: Cora Bender (Frankfurt/M.)

2004: Guido Sprenger (Münster/Westf.)

2000: Wolfram Heise (Hannover)

1999: Thomas Reinhardt (Frankfurt/M.)

1998: Erdmute Alber (Bayreuth)

1997: Iris Gareis (München)

1996: Dorothea Schulz (Yale)